Monday, December 14, 2009

GSP Wins Canadian Athlete Of The Year, Again

UFC welterweight champ Georges "Rush" St-Pierre has once again been named Sportsnet's Canadian Athlete of the Year by popular vote. "Rush" also won the award in 2008. This year, he beat out fellow-finalist Sydney Crosby by a margin of nearly two-to-one. In other words, it was a complete landslide. Maybe that's because Canadian hockey fans don't want to vote for a player that doesn't play for their favourite team, or maybe MMA fans just spend a lot of time on the internet. Either way, this is great exposure both for the sport and for Canada's best fighter.

No comments:

Post a Comment